Gay Andy

August 14, 2010

My day today August 14th 2010

Filed under: Uncategorized — gayandy @ 11:43 am


Today I went downtown to look for a replacement Magsafe charger for my Macbook. Mac’s are great! I *heart* my Mac! Magsafe chargers suck! I *hate* Magsafe chargers. I brought my old magsafe with me and I took it to a repair guy who seems to know how to fix stuff. He looked at it, took it apart and kept shaking his head. I wasn’t sure what that meant, but he didn’t have a happy face. He told me he’s going to need to look for the part that connects the magsafe to my Macbook. He told me to come back again tomorrow. I said ok and I left my magsafe with him.

I left his store and I walked across the street into a computer repair shop. And amazingly guess what I saw in the display case? A used Magsafe! Finding one of those in my town is like finding a diamond in the sand! I couldn’t believe it! I tried to contain my excitement because I didn’t want the store owner to think I was really excited about buying the magsafe in his display case, because he might up the price. If you own a Macbook and have bought a new Magsafe you know they aren’t cheap to buy! They’re expensive. I was really lucky to find a used one. Of course the first thing i thought of was it’s used and 2nd hand and maybe it’s a defective Magsafe that doesn’t work. I talked to the store owner and he told me his son has a Macbook pro and that his son’s magsafe went bad and so he bought a new one with his own money. But then his sons boss bought him another new magsafe and so he decided to sell the one that he bought. Or something like that. Anyhow I asked him how much he would sell me his son’s new/used magsafe for? He told the price that his son was asking for it, and it was very reasonable. I was surprised! I made him promise me that the magsafe wasn’t defective and he said no it works good. He gave me a recepit, recepit how the freek do you spell receipt? Ahhh there it is. He gave me a receipt and I happily took the magsafe home and I’m using it right now as I’m typing this post for you to read. I’m not sure that my Macbook is fixed now with the new/used magsafe, but so far it’s working way better than my other one which is in a plastic bag in the repair shop.

After I left the computer repair store I decided to walk around town and see what I could see. I walked past a store which has a tiled Virgin Mary and Pope John on the wall outside. I thought it looked nice and so I took a pic of it to show you.
After I took the pic I decided to walk to the skateboard park. I let Rike borrow my skateboard and so I didn’t have anything to skate with. I took some pics of guys skateboarding and here’s the pics.

And here’s a pic of what happens when you land wrong while doing skateboard stunts.

I watched the guys skating for a while and then I decided to go to church to say “Hi” to God.

When I got to the church, God was sleeping and I didn’t want to bother him and so I took pics of the beautiful stained glass windows

and then I sat down in a pew and I prayed for a while. I guess praying made me hungry because now I wanted something to eat but after buying the magsafe I didn’t have enough money to buy something to eat. I only had enough money to take the bus back home again.

When I was walking to the bus stop I saw these beautiful cats in cages.
I wanted to take them home with me so my Miss Kitty would have something to play with. But I decided my dad probably wouldn’t let me have these cats.

I walked to the bus stop and I waited and I waited and I waited for my bus. Every bus except the one that I needed to catch passed me by. Now I was getting pissed! WTF is going on with my bus?? Finally a bus showed up that took me almost home. I asked the driver how come there’s no busses to my neighborhood? He said there was a big fire in the mountains near where I live and some of the roads were closed and they cancelled the busses until they could figure out a different route for the busses to take.
Now I was worried. A fire in the mountains near where I live? Is my dad’s house burned down or what? I just wanted to hurry and get home. The bus driver took me as close to my house as he could take me before reaching the closed roads. I got off the bus and I saw the fire in the mountains and I saw the helicopter coming to the lake with a big water bucket swinging below the helicopter. I saw the helicopter picking up the water from the lake and take off again towards the fire. I walked home and my dad’s house is fine. I don’t know why they closed the roads when the fire was so far away from my house.

7 Comments »

  1. This is a very interesting post, David, and your photos are just great! I'm glad you found the used power supply for your computer, I hope it continues to work fine. Are you still going to have your old one repaired, perhaps for a spare?I am happy to hear the fire didn't endanger your house.What in the world are those giant cats doing out in public like that? Was that at a zoo, is the circus in town, or what?That boy's skateboarding injury looks painful!The stained glass windows are really beautiful.I'm glad you find comfort in stopping in the church and praying.I love posts like this, David, please keep doing it.Best wishes,Brian

    Comment by Brian — August 14, 2010 @ 11:34 pm | Reply

  2. thank God, kid!! Oh, I'm glad you finally got the magsafe that you've needed since before your birthday!! It was as frustrating to me as it was for you, reading about the doggone thing causing you more problems!! Oh well, sometimes people just see as clearly as they allow themselves… luv, tman<3

    Comment by tman — August 14, 2010 @ 11:45 pm | Reply

  3. Hurray for the new magsafe! And the guys on skateboards are amazing (definitely not wimps); see what the young guys can do when they get away from screens (ah, the reflexes of youth!). -People seem to forget that religious places are great for meditation and thought; a calming experience. We just can't solve the problems of the world individually, but a few prayers might help. -Never trust wild animals; even cute ones brought up by humans cos they consider you as potential lunch someday! bfn – Wayne 🙂

    Comment by wayner — August 15, 2010 @ 12:25 am | Reply

  4. Hey Andy,Your generosity towards those in need is indeed remarkable. You make everyone of your trips (including trips to the bathroom with your little friend lol) an interesting adventure. Now, I know where you live, lol. The fire in the mountains moved Vladimir Putin, the Prime Minister of Russia, to take the controls of a helicopter, get water from the lake and dump it on the raging fires. It is big international news. Many Russians, however, criticize Putin for launching a publicity stunt, working as a fireman when there is no shortage of them. He got the publicity, both positive and negative. I think Putin made himself the most valuable and expensive fireman. A cost-benefit analysis will prove that a fireman could do a better job than him at a lesser cost. A cost-benefit analysis is also applied in organizations, for profit or non-profit. For example, a business executive will not do typing work because his time and effort have to be spent on bigger things that will bring in more profits or benefits to the company. The clerks and the secretaries do typing work at cheaper cost because their salaries are very much lower than that of the business executive. Of course, their jobs are honorable and honest, most probably more honest than that of some business executives. I tell my students to stay in school, graduate and hone their skills to qualify for better and higher paying jobs. Whenever they apply for a job, they will be looked at on the basis of cost-benefit analysis. Do they have the right education and experience? Will they be effective and productive in their jobs to be worth their salaries? I'm glad you and your family are safe from the fire.Caesar Augustus

    Comment by Anonymous — August 15, 2010 @ 1:27 am | Reply

  5. Why where there tigers and leopards in cages like on the streets?I think it's kinda odd was there a circus or small zoo?Whatever it must have been pretty exciting seeing tiger that close!If that was me I'd grab both my dad's and mom's cellphone and fill up the photo and video limit on it lol.Also I'm glad you found the magsafe and that your house was okay.

    Comment by SafaiaKame — August 15, 2010 @ 2:24 am | Reply

  6. That's what you could call a varied day, David! Progress with the Magsafe, town, skateboard park, church, zoo, the fire drama, all with your great photos.I suppose the fire was on the local news and you found out where it was. I guess it's pretty dry, like everywhere seems to be.But than the fight with Rike in the evening. I commented on that, but I still can't get over it. If he can behave that way to his best friend, he must be really in trouble inside. You have to protect yourself, all you can do is pray for him.

    Comment by BrianW — August 15, 2010 @ 11:39 am | Reply

  7. Awesome pics! Sounds like a fun day 🙂

    Comment by darkdrearywilderness — August 15, 2010 @ 9:22 pm | Reply


RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

Leave a Reply

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.

